The Crested Gecko Forum

NEW TO CRESTIES: Advice? VERY NERVOUS

View previous topic View next topic Go down

NEW TO CRESTIES: Advice? VERY NERVOUS

Post by PinkGecko on Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:53 pm

Hello everyone,
I'm PinkGecko and I am new to dealing with Reptiles.
So I work at Petco and We have a few Crested Gecko's for sale. I started doing research on them and I found that they fit my home requirements.
I was looking for a Docile reptile that requires little to no insect feeding. I stumbled upon the lovely Crested Gecko and instantly fell in love with it.
I was looking through a lot of different care sheets about them and they all sound great but i am unsure of what steps to follow. I see a lot of people who breed them, sort of do there own thing. For example; Some people feed their Cresties "Crested Gecko Diet" Some do a mixture of insects and the diet.
Some people prefer a different brand over others.. it's all so confusing. I saw some really amazing set-ups for these Reptiles...and again I am confused.
I want to avoid my Crestie becoming sick at all means. For starters I don;t know how easy it would be to find a veterinarian that deals with small animals/Reptiles.
So If anyone could tell me the Basics I need to keep these guys alive,happy and healthy I would really appreciate it.
Some questions I have are:

What size Setup? Tank or Tall cage?
What Brand of Food? Can I strictly do the Crested Gecko Diet? It's supposed to have everything the Gecko needs right?
How much water is needed?
Lighting/Heating?
Handling do's and don't?
how often to bath? If needed?
How do I handle the Humidity of the tank without over moisturizing or over drying?

Thank you. Please help me out?

PinkGecko

My Points : 3

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: NEW TO CRESTIES: Advice? VERY NERVOUS

Post by M4U5H on Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:43 am